Built in a European architectural pattern in 1911, the old Taichung City Hall is one of the most distinctive reinforced concrete buildings in Taichung area. Initially serving as the Taichung Office for the Public Canal Federation, it was later the Taichung City Hall during the Japanese rule period. After World War II, the building served as the joint office for the Taichung City 228 Incident Handling Committee and the Taichung City Headquarters of Kuomintang in the early days and later as the office for the Municipal Archive and News Room and Transportation Bureau of Taichung City Government. It has been designated as a historic building in Taichung City since July 2002. The old Taichung City Hall was constructed in Baroque style. All its openings (including the doors and windows) were specially designed in various models and with refined decoration. Its rare and eye-catching wooden dome is supported by the towering pillars and eight timber roofs. The entire building was composed of brick structure, wood structure, iron bars, concrete structure and steel structure. It is a classic example to showcase of the construction technology in the Japanese rule period.